System and more pommodoro

I got some interesting feedback on professional time management this week.  The   suggestion was to ‘set appointments with yourself.’ I tried to integrate this suggestion with the pommodoro technique. It worked well except for a couple of appointments I couldn’t keep. However,  the reason I missed those appointment was that my previous engagements ran longer than expected (eg 6 hours on billable work when I scheduled only 2 hours).

Observation:  this scheduling routine may give insight into effective assistant management.  Fur example,  how to do 2 tasks in 25 min. One for me and one for assistant.

Observation 2: using the pommodoro with scheduling moved projects ahead that were important but not urgent.  This principle (if I recall correctly)  is espoused in The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People.

Leave a Reply

